You could be worried that a Snapchat friend has deleted their account if you haven’t seen any activity from them in a while. There are a few workarounds you can use to determine whether someone has deleted their Snapchat even though there is no easy method to detect if they have.
In other words, the Snapchat Team respects users’ privacy and doesn’t let their friends know when they decide to remove their accounts. This indicates that you have very few possibilities for figuring things out on your own.
However, let’s make the best of the situation by discussing how you can learn if someone has deleted their Snapchat.
- See if you can send them a message.
- Search for their username
- Ask them directly
- Try searching from a different account in case they blocked you.
Ways to know if someone deleted their Snapchat
See if you can send them a message.
Even if someone has deleted their Snapchat, you may still be able to see any saved messages that they sent you. However, you won’t be able to send them any new messages. If you think the person might have deleted their account, go into your chat history and see if you’re able to start a chat or respond to any of their saved messages.
You might not be able to locate the person in your chat history at all if they deactivated their account and you don’t have any messages from them that you have saved. If you conduct a name search in the chat screen, they won’t come up either.
You might encounter an error message like “Failed to send your message” or “Pending” while attempting to send a message to a deleted account.
Additionally, Snapchat users who have banned you won’t be able to send you messages. As a result, just because you can’t send a message to someone doesn’t imply their account has been deleted.
Search for their username
When you’re on your Chat list on Snapchat, have you ever noticed a tiny magnifying glass on the top left of the screen, right next to your bitmoji?
Well, when you click on this icon, a search bar will appear on your screen, where you can enter the username of the person you think has deleted their account.
Once you enter their username and hit Enter, you’ll get one of the two results. Either their name will be found, or it won’t be. Keep reading to learn what both these results could mean.
If you can still find their username on Snapchat, what does it mean?
This person’s account is still active if you can still find their username and send them snaps. But perhaps they stopped using the app or removed it some time ago.
On the other hand, if you are still able to view their profile but are unable to send them any snaps, it means that they have recently deactivated their account.
Snapchat suspends a user’s account for one month after they delete it, giving them the option to reactivate it. Their account will still be active at this time, but you won’t be able to contact them.
Ask them directly
Snapchat doesn’t exactly make it easy for us to find out if someone deleted their Snapchat account. However, if you’ve already conducted the test we talked about in the last section and believe that they might have done it, why don’t you just ask them about it?
Asking them will reduce your tension and make them feel important if you know them in person or are linked to them through another platform. Later on, please thank us.
Try searching from a different account in case they blocked
If someone has blocked you on Snapchat, you won’t be able to see their stories or interact with them. They also won’t show up in your searches. If you’re not sure whether someone has deleted their account or blocked you, try logging in with a new Snapchat account and searching for them that way. If you still can’t see their profile or stories, there’s a good chance the account is deleted.
If you don’t want to create a whole new account, you can also ask a friend to search for them for you while logged in under their own account.
Reasons that someone has deleted a Snapchat account
- The danger of screenshots
- Your face is sad
- Snapchat takes time
The danger of screenshots
Even if Snapchat’s creators advise against snapping screenshots without a second person’s permission, it’s still simple to capture your friend doing something they later regret.
Guess what, though? It goes both ways, and as long as the Snapchat app is installed on your smartphone, you’ll always be terrified that one of your contacts may someday find proof that you’re a moron or made a bad error. Why run the risk?
It could be worth uninstalling the Snapchat app for Android if you’re the kind of person who despises being made to look bad because it’s only a matter of time before you get burnt.
A Snapchat Account is no longer needed
It might be that to avoid distraction and save time, the person deleted the Snapchat account for some time. However, he/she may activate their account after some time.
Snapchat takes time
If you’re a polite Snapchat user, you’ll probably feel obliged to reply to every single Snapchat message or picture you receive, and that can take some time.
On top of that, if you have a hefty friends list on the image-sharing Android app then you’re quite possibly tired of trying to keep up with everybody’s ever-growing Snapchat Story. Let’s be honest, your friends aren’t interesting enough to watch for hours on end, anyway.
By moving on from Snapchat you won’t have to tap your way through your friend’s drunken Friday night story or your other friend’s in-depth account of their lunch.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How do you know if someone deleted or unfriended you on Snapchat?
How to tell if someone unadded (or removed) you on Snapchat? Open Snapchat and tap the search button at the top. Search for the person you think has removed you. If you are not able to see their Snapchat score, then they have removed you.
Does it still say delivered if blocked on Snapchat?
If Someone blocks you on Snapchat, they’ll disappear from your contacts list, and even if you try and search for them through the app, you won’t be able to locate them. If someone deletes you, they’ll still appear in your contacts, and if you send them a snap it will just say ‘delivered’.
How do you know if someone blocked you on Snapchat in 2022?
Search for username
Try searching for the username and if you can’t find anyone with the username, it’s because you might have been blocked. If you have been blocked very recently, you might even see the username but when you tap the add button, you will get a message saying “Sorry! Couldn’t find username”.
We’ve learned that when someone deletes their Snapchat account, the Snapchat Team doesn’t broadcast it to their friends for the sake of privacy. But if you think one of your friends has left the platform, you can do the username test we’ve talked about in the blog to check if they’re really gone or have just blocked you instead.